Community News

Douglas Smith Student Award winners announced

6 July 2015

Three Sunderland University students have won the 2015 Douglas Smith Student Award, a national competition to find the most talented PR students, organised by CIPR International.

Douglas Smith Student Award winners announced

The Douglas Smith award, which launched last year, is designed to help a new generation of PR professionals showcase their talent.

Eva Maclaine, chair of CIPR International and board member of the CIPR, presented Lauren Old, Hannah Lennox and Arianne Williams with a cheque for £1,000 and a crystal trophy.

Eva said: “These students are the future of PR and supporting and nurturing them is a key strand of the work of CIPR International. We are very pleased to be able to help them on the start of their journey towards PR.”

As well as CIPR President Sarah Pinch, the judging panel included Stephen Waddington, European digital and social media director at Ketchum, and visiting professor at Newcastle University; digital consultant Stephen Davies; and professor Anne Gregory, chair of the Global Alliance.

Last year’s Douglas Smith Student Award winner was Jeremy Dickey, at the time an MA student at London’s University of the Arts.

Pictured left to right: Eva Maclaine, Arianne Williams, Lauren Old and Hannah Lennox.